Artificial Intelligence (AI) Based Accident Prevention System for Escalators

Title of I&T Wish Artificial Intelligence (AI) Based Accident Prevention System for Escalators
(REF : W-0181)
Project Summary and Challenges Apart from equipment failure, the occurrence of escalator accidents is mostly related to human behavior which is in turn affected by many factors, such as age and health condition of passenger, time of the day using escalator etc. This project will make use of video images captured just before the occurrence of past escalator accidents and identify their correlations with various human factors using AI technology. The developed system would be used to compare with the real-time images captured in MTR stations so that it can evaluate the chance of occurring similar escalator accidents on spot and then implement preventive measures to prevent the occurrence of similar escalator accidents. In case there is a high chance of re-occurrence of similar incident, appropriate MTR station staff will be notified immediately to provide timely assistance to passengers in need and public address system will announce caution messages to alert the concerned passengers for drawing their attention on the safe use of escalator.
Expected Outcome To develop a AI based system to predict the chance of escalator incidents and implement preventive measures accordingly.
Expected Project Duration 22 months (2 months for collection of historical incident data and corresponding CCTV images, 6 months for data analysis and preparation of implementation strategy, 14 months for pilot implementation and trial run)
Contact Information

Contact Person: Mr WONG Chi Leung

Position: Senior Engineer

Tel: 3912 0618

Email: chwong1@emsd.gov.hk

Project Deliverables 1. To capture the video images near the time of occurrence of past escalator accidents; 2. To develop a software programme to analyze the video images and identify the correlation of accident occurrence with respective human factors; 3. To make use of the correlation and compare the real-time images captured in MTR stations; 4. To notify appropriate railway staff for appropriate action; and 5. To announce caution messages via public address system to alert the concerned passengers for drawing their attention on the safe use of escalator

人工智能(AI)的自動梯事故預防系統

創科願望 人工智能(AI)的自動梯事故預防系統
(編號 : W-0181)
已配對創科方案
試驗項目
摘要及挑戰 除設備故障外,自動梯事故的發生主要與人的行為有關。此項目將利用視頻圖像將過去的自動梯事故發生之前的相關閉路電視圖像,使用AI技術確定它們與各種人為因素的相關性。 系統以地鐵站中獲得的實時圖像評估現場發生類似自動梯事故的可能性,然後實施預防措施,防止類似情況的自動梯事故發生。 如果發生類似事件的可能性很大,會立即通知地鐵站工作人員,為有需要的乘客提供即時協助,而公共廣播系統亦會發出警告訊息,提醒有關乘客安全使用自動梯。
預期成果 開發人工智能系統,預測自動梯事故發生的可能性,並據此實施預防措施。
預計試驗期限 22個月(收集過去事故數據和相應的閉路電視圖像(2個月),數據分析和準備實施策略(6個月),試點實施和試運行(14個月))
聯絡資料
創科願望提議者:機電工程署
聯絡人:王志亮先生
職位:高級工程師
電話: 3912 0618
電子郵件: chwong1@emsd.gov.hk
項目成果 1.收集過去的自動梯事故發生時視頻圖像; 2.開發軟件分析視頻圖像,識別事故發生與人為因素的相關性; 3.利用相關性並比較地鐵站的實時圖像; 4.通知適當的鐵路工作人員採取適當行動; 和 5.通過公共廣播系統發布警告信息,提醒有關乘客使用自動梯時注意安全
發布日期 2019-06-10
截止日期 2019-06-24