Robot for Specimen Collection and Delivery in Government Quarantine Center

I&T Wish Robot for Specimen Collection and Delivery in Government Quarantine Center
(REF : W-0332)
Summary and Challenges The purpose of this project is to develop an outdoor IoT autonomous mobile robot (AMR) equipped with LIDAR, self-built maps, accurate navigation and obstacle avoidance modules, to collect saliva specimen from each accommodation unit for persons in quarantine at Government Quarantine Centre in order to facilitate the performance of medical surveillance; relieve the manpower constraint and minimize the risk of cross infection in the quarantine center.
Expected Outcome
  1. The autonomous mobile robot (AMR) is able to work in outdoor environment and sustainable with all weather (e.g. rainy and windy environment), and outdoor concrete bumpy road surface.
  2. Equip with robotic vision or other methods to identify the unit number of the accommodation for persons in quarantine; and to locate bags of specimen (The size of the specimen bag is (a Biohazard Zipped bag) : 16.5 x 25 cm enclosing a Transparent Zipped bag: 10 x 20 cm)
  3. Apart from collection of specimen bags from the units on ground level, i.e. the robot may extend across the adjoining road and the corridor of around 2.1 m in width and to a height of around 1.1m to 1.6 m. If possible, as there is no elevator, has ability to perform vertical reach from ground level to 1st level (around 4.5m height from the ground level) and across the 2.1m corridor. Or the Robot is capable of climbing stairs, each step is around 0.12m height.
  4. Equip with a handling manipulator for holding specimens to collection tray.
  5. Equip with self-disinfection device for cleansing the manipulator after each collection.
  6. Equip with a container of minimum capacity to store all specimens from one block (total 16 units per block, may have one to two specimens per unit, ~32 bags per block)
  7. Require outdoor robotic charging at in-between stops. Once the robot finishes collection of specimens from the block, the robot shall return to the starting point (medical post) for emptying all the specimen bags before the next round of collection. Travelling distance from each collection points to medical post ranges from 10m to 300m.
  8. Means to protect specimens from sunlight and rain or any external impacts during the collection process shall be in place. * Accommodations for persons in quarantine are built on blocks. Each block is divided into two levels, the ground level and the 1st level, and usually will have 8 units on one level.
Expected Trial Duration 2 months
Contact Information
I&T Wish Proposer:Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD)
Contact Person:TIU Yat Ho
Position:Engineer/Health Sector/Project 1/1
Tel: 38522013
Email: yhtiu@emsd.gov.hk
Initiating Department Department of Health (DH)
Publish Date 2020-10-15
Closing Date 2020-10-29

政府檢疫中心樣本收集機器人

創科願望 政府檢疫中心樣本收集機器人
(編號 : W-0332)
已配對創科方案
試驗項目
摘要及挑戰 該項目旨在開發一部採用光學雷達(LIDAR) 技術的室外全自主移動機械人,擁有內建地圖及提供精確導航和避障的功能,於政府檢疫中心的組合單位 外收集由檢疫人士提交的深喉唾液樣本並運送到醫療站,以提高醫療監察效力、舒緩人手需求及減低交叉感染的風險
預期成果
  1. 自主移動機械人能於室外工作,並且能在惡劣天氣如大雨和強風下穩定地運作及能在顛簸路面上運行
  2. 採用電腦視覺或其他技術識別單位的號碼,能識別並置於該單位外的樣本袋。(樣本袋呎寸: Biohazard 袋:16.5 x 25厘米;內另裝有透明拉鍊袋:10x20 厘米)
  3. 除了能夠從地下單位收集樣本外,即機械人能從地面橫越2.1米闊的走廊及達到1.1至1.6米的高度。因沒有電梯設備,在可行情況下,機械人可從地面伸延至一樓的高度(約4.5米)和橫越2.1米走廊。又或機械人可配備爬行樓梯的設備(每級樓梯約0.12米高)。
  4. 配備機械臂收集由檢疫人士提交的樣本並將樣本放於收集容器內
  5. 配備自動消毒裝置,於每次收集後,能消毒機械臂以避免交叉污染
  6. 配備樣本收集容器,其容量可足夠儲存至少一座單位的樣本(每座共有16個單位,而每單位有1-2個樣本,即每座大約有32個樣本袋)
  7. 在室外設置充電站方便中途充電;每當機械人完成一座收集樣本的工作後,機械人需返回起點醫療站,以清空所有樣本袋,再繼續下一輪收集。醫療站與組合單位距離由10 米至300米不等
  8. 在運送樣本過程中須確保樣本免受日曬雨淋和撞擊的影響 *檢疫人士的住宿單位建於中心的不同座數內。每座共分地下和一樓兩層,每層約有八個單位
預計試驗期限 2個月
聯絡資料
創科願望提議者:機電工程署
聯絡人:張溢豪先生
職位:工程師/衞生工程/工程策劃 1/1
電話: 38522013
電子郵件: yhtiu@emsd.gov.hk
發起部門 衞生署
發布日期 2020-10-15
截止日期 2020-10-29