Government-Wide Internet of Things Network (GWIN) to Track the Locations of Hikers in Remote Areas

        

In some remote countryside areas, the lack of mobile network coverage poses potential dangers to hikers and increases the difficulty in search and rescue operations in case of accidents. In the light of this, the EMSD launched a trial scheme under the Smart City Blueprint for Hong Kong 2.0. With the combined use of global positioning and Internet of Things (IoT) technologies, the EMSD studied the technical feasibility of leveraging the Government-Wide Internet of Things Network (GWIN) to track the locations of hikers in remote areas.

Verifying Technical Feasibility in Supporting the CAS Orienteering Competition

On 24 October 2021, the Civil Aid Service (CAS) Cadet Corps held the Orienteering Competition 2021 at CAS Yuen Tun Camp. In view of the poor mobile network coverage in the area concerned, the EMSD provided a hiker safety system to enhance safety by tracking participants'locations during the event. At the same time, the technologies used could also be tested and evaluated. Since the GWIN coverage was needed for the designated competition area, the EMSD worked closely with the Civil Aid Service prior to the event, to familiarise with the landscape of the venue so as to find suitable set-up locations for the GWIN mobile gateways to ensure smooth operation of the system. The project team also pre-tested the system thoroughly by completing the designated routes with the smart watch devices to be provided to the participants, in order to ensure the GWIN coverage for the area.

Over 80 hiker safety smart watch devices with location tracking, SOS and geo-fencing functions were provided by the EMSD for the participating teams and CAS staff. In case of emergency, participants may send out SOS signals with the device. Upon receipt of the signals on the system management platform, the on-site EMSD supporting centre would notify the CAS of the device location to provide necessary assistance. The geo-fencing function of the device would notify the CAS for necessary follow-up actions if any device was found to be deviated from the activity zone. During the event, the EMSD supporting centre successfully retrieved real-time locations of the participating teams that did not reach the finishing point within the designated time via the system management platform.

For further information of GWIN & application of Hiker Safety Trial Scheme, please visit :

Government-Wide IoT Network (GWIN) :  https://www.emsd.gov.hk/en/engineering_services/project_management_consultancy/highlights_of_work/gwin/index.html

>> Hiker Safety Trial Scheme Trial Project: CAS Cadet Corps Orienteering Competition 2021

Related Matched Case :

P-0149 Mobile Speedometer Tester
W-0248 Smart Speedometer Tester
S-0545 Speedometer Tester

政府物聯通追蹤遠足人士位置

         

現時,部分偏遠的郊野地區沒有流動電話網絡訊號覆蓋,對遠足人士可能構成潛在危險。一旦發生意外,搜救行動亦會有一定困難。有見及此,機電署在《香港智慧城市藍圖2.0》下推行一項試驗計劃,應用定位技術及物聯網技術,研究在偏遠地區利用政府的物聯網網絡(政府物聯通)追蹤遠足人士位置的技術可行性。

支援民安隊野外定向比賽 驗證技術切實可行

2021年10月24日,民眾安全服務隊(民安隊)少年團於民安隊圓墩營舉辦2021年野外定向比賽。鑑於該區域的電話網絡訊號覆蓋欠佳,機電署為活動提供行山安全系統,採用政府物聯通的網絡追蹤參賽者位置,提升活動安全,並驗證新技術的成效。由於在活動中政府物聯通需要覆蓋指定比賽範圍,機電署在活動舉行前,與民眾安全服務處緊密合作,了解比賽場地的地理環境,找尋放置政府物聯通流動基站的合適位置,並參與事前測試,確保系統運作暢順。工作團隊成員更佩戴為參賽者提供的行山定位手錶裝置,親身走畢比賽路線,以確保政府物聯通覆蓋活動範圍。

機電署為參賽隊伍和工作人員提供逾80個行山安全手錶裝置,該裝置具備定位、SOS求救及電子圍欄功能。出現緊急情況時,參賽者可利用手錶發送SOS求救訊號。在系統管理平台收到求救訊號後,我們在現場設立的後援中心會把該手錶裝置的實時定位位置通知民安隊工作人員,以提供協助。電子圍欄功能則可通過系統管理平台偵測手錶裝置有否偏離活動範圍,並在有需要時通知民安隊工作人員,以作跟進。比賽當日,機電署成功透過系統管理平台取得手錶裝置的實時定位位置,從而有效地找到未能於指定時間抵達終點的參加隊伍,確保所有隊伍安全。

歡迎到下列網址了解更多政府物聯通 (GWIN) 及行山安全試驗計劃的資訊 :

政府物聯通 (GWIN) : https://www.emsd.gov.hk/tc/engineering_services/project_management_consultancy/highlights_of_work/gwin/index.html

>> 行山安全試驗計劃 - 試行項目: 民安隊少年團野外定向比賽2021

有關配對項目 :

P-0149 Mobile Speedometer Tester
W-0248 Smart Speedometer Tester
S-0545 Speedometer Tester